The Night Diary

R165.00

ISBN: 9780735228528

Author: Veera Hiranandani

Ages: 12-18 years

In the vein of Inside Out and Back Again and The War That Saved My Life comes a poignant, personal, and hope-ful tale of India's partition, and of one girl's journey to find a new home in a divided country It's 1947, and India, newly independent of British rule, has been separated into two countries: Pakistan and India. The divide has cre-ated much tension between Hindus and Muslims, and hundreds of thousands are killed crossing borders. Half-Muslim, half-Hindu twelve-year-old Nisha doesn't know where she belongs, or what her country is anymore. When Papa decides it's too dangerous to stay in what is now Pakistan, Nisha and her family become refugees and embark first by train but later on foot to reach her new home. The journey is long, difficult, and dangerous, and after losing her mother as a baby, Nisha can't imagine losing her homeland, too. But even if her country has been ripped apart, Nisha still believes in the possibility of putting herself back together. Told through Nisha's let-ters to her mother, The Night Diary is a heartfelt story of one girl's search for home, for her own identity...and for a hopeful future.

Explore more books

My South African ABC

R160.00

A Child’s First Bible

R350.00

Roald Dahl: Animal Sounds

R170.00

Fly High Thoko!

R135.00